IT question and answers

Facebook members who hate the social networking giant's new Timeline feature and want to get rid of it may have to think twice before visiting sites that claim to be able to erase the feature.

Facebook members who hate the social networking giant's new Timeline feature and want to get rid of it may have to think twice before visiting sites that claim to be able to erase the feature.

 

 A Facebook enthusiast site said these scams prompt users into "Liking" several pages, inviting friends and downloading files, without getting rid of Timeline.

 

 "These fraudulent Facebook pages prompt users to click a number of Like buttons, invite friends, watch YouTube videos and download files. Timeline, however, is permanent once a user opts in to try it, and will be mandatory across the site within weeks," InsideFacebook.com said.

 

 It said many Facebook members appeared to have fallen for these scams, noting at least 16 "Timeline-related scam pages" gained thousands of likes.

 

 A separate article on The Next Web warned of a potential danger as some of the sites asked people to download and install browser extensions.

 

 "While liking things won’t do any technical damage, some scams are asking people to download and install extensions for their browser, and who knows what type of harm that could cause," it said (http://thenextweb.com/facebook/2012/01/04/facebook-users-who-really-dislike-timeline-are-getting-scammed/).

   InsideFacebook said the 16 Timeline-related scam pages have collectively gained more than 71,000 likes, with the largest getting some 19,000 likes.

   Such pages are among the top search results when searching Facebook for “timeline,” it added.

   "We work hard to educate users on how to be safe through our blog and the Facebook and Facebook Security pages. We regularly update the Facebook Security page and its over five million fans with tips and information about new threats. We also work with outside experts on education initiatives," InsideFacebook.com quoted a Facebook spokesperson as saying..

   But it said the Facebook Security page has not warned users of claims to deactivate Timeline, or posted tips on the Help Center telling people that the feature cannot be removed.

   It advised users who find fraudulent pages to use the “Report Page” button on the lower left hand side of the page.